2019 AGM

The Association’s 2019 AGM will take place at the Cairngorm Hotel, Aviemore at 1330 on Saturday 2nd November. It will be preceded at 1300 by a brief presentation and discussion led by Duncan Gilmour, SRC Company Secretary, on possible changes to the corporate structure of the Strathspey Railway and its component parts.

After the AGM, the Raffle will be drawn, and Graham Maxtone, SRA Member, Volunteer Signaller and former Signalman at Banavie, will give an illustrated talk on the West Highland Line.

At 1030 the DMU will leave Aviemore for Boat of Garten, to allow members to see developments there – Project Undercover, Conversion of Gas House to a Coffee House, Repainting of the South Signal Box.

The Meeting Room will be available from 1030 for members to meet informally, and Light lunch will be available at the Hotel from 1130.



About 80 members attended the 2018 AGM, held on 17th November in the Cairngorm Hotel, and chaired by Ian Stanworth. Maureen Cuthbertson and Roderick McLeod stood down as Director and Company Secretary, respectively, and Robert Walters was elected to the Board. Robert oversees Boat of Garten Station, and works as a Guard, mostly on Royal Scotsman. (at the SRA Board Meeting, following AGM,  Robert was elected as Company Secretary). Bill Johnson was re-appointed as Membership Secretary – his 24th year. Andrew McCracken and Ian Rattray were re-appointed as editors of Express, and Gareth Jones was confirmed as Accountant for another year. It was also agreed to leave subscription rates unchanged for 2019. Robert Owen, a very regular and valuable volunteer at Aviemore Station, was chosen as Volunteer of the Year.

After the Raffle was drawn, Stephen Muirhead gave an interesting illustrated talk on the upgrades currently being carried out on the Highland Main Line, focussing mainly on the platform extensions at Pitlochry and the loop extension at Aviemore which includes bi-directional signalling on the mainline and full signalling of the access between the mainline and the Strathspey Railway.

Written reports tabled by four of the associated companies are available here:


Maureen Cuthbertson, promoter of the 2017 Association Raffle, handing over a cheque for more than £4,000 to Doug Scott to start an overhaul fund for Caley 828


The 2018 AGM will be held on Saturday 3rd November 2018

The Association’s AGM on 4th November 2017 was attended by about 80 members. Ian Stanworth and Mike Tough were re-elected to the Board, and the Membership Secretary and the Express Editors were re-elected. David Spaven gave an interesting talk about the Far North Line (Inverness to Wick/Thurso)

Recent 200 Club Winners

August 2017 – Douglas Norris, D I Watson and Alan Nicholls

September 2017 – Ian Stanworth, Alasdair Morgan and Ian Budd

October 2017 – Nick Thomson, Andrew McCracken and Colin Frost

2017 AGM